Accessibility Tools

No More Headaches: Pseudotumor Cerebri Clinical Trial at Weill Cornell

Patient Stories - "Idiopathic Intracranial Hypertension"

  • Finally, I Had a Sense of HopePanicked, Caroline went first to an urgent care physician, then her primary care doctor, and finally to a psychiatrist. She was diagnosed with everything from a sinus infection to mononucleosis, the flu, and anxiety. “No matter what medication they put me on, the symptoms wouldn’t go away,” she says. Read More - Caroline Nadel
  • A Real Solution to a Pseudotumor I suffered from headaches all throughout my twenties, and I had always thought they were migraines. The headaches got much worse when I was pregnant — they affected my vision and I would actually lose my vision briefly (but entirely) several times a day. It was scary!.. Read More - Allyson Tlacoxolal
  • Connecting the Dots Dr. Randal Orton was in his thirties when he started to notice slight changes in his vision. It was nothing serious at first — the moon in the night sky seemed hazy, everything seemed just the tiniest bit blurry — and he attributed it to the normal effects of aging. Read More - Randal Orton
  • It Was Time to Do Something South Carolina physical therapist Shannon Johnson, 38, woke up one summer night to find that the vision from her left eye had mysteriously dimmed. “It looked like the lights were turned off in my left eye and on in my right,” she says. Read More - Shannon Johnson
  • He Gave Me a Second Chance at Life Nicole Scherer of Bellmore, New York, was 25 years old and eager to start her career as a newly minted lawyer. Other than the occasional migraine, she was doing fine — and much like the other 3 million Americans who suffer from migraines, she attributed them to something benign: sinus problems, low blood sugar, dehydration, or her diet. At first she tried to ease her migraines by hydrating herself more and changing her diet, but her efforts were for naught; not only did the migraines keep coming, but her condition started to become more perilous. Read More - Nicole Scherer
  • I Was Ready Not to Be a Lost Cause Cali Halperin was just 16 years old during the summer of 2016, when she got a headache that wouldn’t go away. A normally healthy and active high school student from New York City, she didn’t know what to do about it except take ibuprofen and hope it would get better. But it didn’t. “I woke up with it every morning and went to bed with it every night,” she recalls. “It was especially painful behind my eyes.”Read More - Cali Halperin

Patient Stories - "Pulsatile Tinnitus"

  • Pulsatile Tinnitus, Solved Kate Metzler, a 32-year-old behavioral therapist from Kingston, New York, will never forget the frustrating year she spent seeing doctors, having medical tests, and trying get to the bottom of her mysterious and debilitating symptoms — only to finally find relief at the Weill Cornell Medicine Brain and Spine Center.Read More - Kate Metzler
  • I Am So Grateful for the Silence When Maryanne Pratt of Ossining, New York, first noticed the faint pulsing sound in her right ear, she figured it was a sinus problem and didn’t think much about it. But over the next few weeks the sound became more intense and she started getting headaches too. One day as she bent down to put harnesses on her dogs, the pulsing sound became so loud it was like a revving car engine.Read More - Maryanne Pratt
  • The Best Happy Ending It was ten years ago when Rosanne Miller, a 64-year-old legal assistant from Brooklyn, New York, started to hear a whooshing noise in her ear. She had just returned from a trip and assumed the sound was part of the “ear-popping” sensation many travelers experience. “I attributed it to flying and thought it would go away, but it continued 24/7,” she remembers. The whooshing was a constant presence in her life for a decade — until she met Dr. Athos Patsalides and underwent the venous sinus stenting procedure he has pioneered here in the United States.Read More - Rosanne Miller

Patient Stories - "Brain Aneurysm"

  • I Give Dr. P Two Thumbs Up!It all started back in January, when she first heard a ringing in her ear. “My mom passed away in the beginning of November and after that I was chewing a lot of gum to manage stress and to cope,” Asnath recalls, “so I thought that might have been it. An ENT specialist suggested I undergo an MRI, and the doctor who read it told me I had an aneurysm! I said, ‘Wait, what? Isn’t that a big thing?’”Read More - Asnath Gedeon

Patient Stories in Health Grades

  • Dr. Patsalides performed successfully 3 kyphoplasties I had in the last three years. After each one I fully recovered in a few days and was also able to return to work in the same week. The physical therapy that he also prescribed returned me quickly back to regular excercising. Do not let fractures control your life. Dr. Patsalides can help you restore your life and your spine back to normal. Pay him a visit. You can trust him. I did so 3 times. These were among my best choices. - Nives in New York, NY – May 09, 2017
  • Dr. Patsalides SAVED MY LIFE. I have intracranial hypertension. I was almost blind, had terrible migraines and I have having pseudo seizures.. (15-20 a day). I was apart of his and Dr. Dinkin’s clinical trial. He placed a 3 inch mesh stent in the main vein on the right side of my brain. I haven’t had a seizure since, my vision came back and I no longer have chronic migraines. My life is back to normal and it wouldn’t have been that way if it wasn’t for Dr. P. - Amanda S in New Jersey – Mar 08, 2018
  • He seem very knowledgeable and confident at his speciality. He seem sincere. He has professionalism when speaking with me. Overall I just felt at ease when speaking about my medical condition. He's staff are great too. - Christine in Queens, NY – Mar 21, 2016
  • Thorough, explains things well. Thoughtful about complex decisions. Kind. - Anonymous - Jan 30, 2020
  • Dr. Patsalides is amazing. I truly feel like he gave me my life back. He’s incredibly nice, caring and supportive on top of being a genius. I consider myself lucky to be a patient. - Stacie Switek in CT – Dec 07, 2018
  • My experience with Dr. Patsalides was very positive. He explained my problem clearly. He also explained the procedure that he would follow to correct the problem. - Geraldine Pecoraro – Jul 18, 2018
  • I am so grateful to be Dr. Patsalides patient. I've been looking for answers for so long and he had them. Made me cry like a child in his office. Just to be listened to and believed would've been enough, but he diagnosed me and offered a solution. I'm forever grateful. - Milica Obradovic – Dec 05, 2019
  • This man is a wonderful doctor! He is very sincere very concerned about the patient as an individual, he is warm and friendly and really Treats the patient in such a cordial manner. I found him by accident when I was researching a certain kind of tinnitus on line and his page from the Weil Cornell Presbyterian website popped up. And I continued to read about him and I read his personal statement regarding his care concern and empathy for people with this condition. I was extremely impressed and when I read his statement which indicated he was honored to treat patients suffering from this affliction I knew he was the doctor for me! I would very highly recommend this extremely well qualified and outstanding physician! - C. Regenhard – Nov 22, 2019
  • Dr. Patsalides is a very good doctor and a very nice man ! ! I have seen him a few times over the past two years, after a diagnosis of a brain aneurysm. He always listens, he answers my questions with patience, kindness and even drawings :) He treated my aneurysm a mew months ago successfully ! ! and as per my recent follow up visit, all is well, to my great relief :) I even I got a big hug on my way out of his office. Here is a success story ! ! Thank you Doctor. - Theodora H. – Nov 18, 2019
  • Dr Patsalides is a wonderful doctor Besides being professional in his manner(answering questions) he is also very personable. We had a wonderful conversation and follow up visit. Thank you Doctor - Jane M Connecticut – Nov 17, 2019
  • After hearing about Dr. Patsalides, I flew from CA to meet with him. Best decision, literally of my life. He will be performing surgery in a few weeks, where other doctors did not know what to do. He’s also the kindest most humble doctor I’ve met. - Terri S – Oct 31, 2019
  • He is very knowledgeable, patient, and kind. I would highly recommend him. - Anonymous - Oct 24, 2019
  • Dr. Athos Patsalides is a great doctor and an incredible human being. He is caring, very attentive to his patients' needs and to each particular situation. In general, when you get to him it is because you have an important health issue. You could not be in better hands. Dr. Patsalides will talk to you, explain your situation and he will do what is best for you in each case. He is patient and will answer all your questions and address your doubts and fears. You know this from the first time that you meet him. Furthermore, he will not run unnecessary risks and he balances each decision that he takes carefully and considering all the data that he has and the particular patient that he is treating. When I was diagnosed with an unruptured brain aneurysm, my other doctors highly recommended him. It couldn't have been a better choice. I recommend Dr. Patsalides without any hesitation as an excellent professional and a trustworthy and caring person. - Graciela Bazet-Broitman – Oct 20, 2019
  • The doctor was very thorough in explaining everything - so much so that he answered any questions I had just naturally discussing my case and treatment options. I appreciated his direct discussion with me, yet his kind and caring demeanor throughout the whole conversation. He was very warm and genuine throughout, and the staff all were really great. I had some imaging done downstairs prior to my appointment, and everyone was just really accommodating, warm, and welcoming. - Anonymous - Oct 03, 2019
  • Dr. Patsalides is both really skillful and caring. You could not do better than to choose him as your doctor. - Anonymous - Oct 03, 2019
  • Dr.Patsalides is direct and kind during conversation. He explains everything in detail. His follow up is to be commended!!! Highly recommend Dr, Patsalides. - AnneMarie Gambardella in NYC, NY – Sep 24, 2019
  • Dr. Patsalides is one of the most caring doctors I have ever had. He takes his time and you can feel his concern that you understand all options and treatments and what procedures you have had. He and his staff are very accessible for questions. I highly recommend him. - Anonymous - Sep 23, 2019
  • The visit went fine. He remembered me from 11 yrs. ago. He answered all my questions in a friendly manner. - M. S. Field – Sep 22, 2019
  • One of the best doctors I’ve ever dealt with! - Anonymous - Sep 15, 2019
  • I went on a 3hr trip from Albany too NYC too meet this Doctor, I left fearful that I would find another road block and find that there was no help for me. Instead, I found a kind and caring doctor who truly cared and wants too help me feel better, I actually went home feeling relieved, like Air was on the right path! Dr. Patsalides is a top notch Dr who truly cares about his patients and their well being! I look forward too being under his care! - Amanda Wiggin – Sep 15, 2019
  • Dr. Patsilides is awesome! His compassion, knowledge, and professionalism is outstanding and amazing! We drove 6 hours and would do so in a heart beat. This is called health care it's finest! His whole team was just awesome...can't say enough positive things!! - Anonymous - Sep 12, 2019
  • Dr Patsalides is an outstanding Doctor. He is personable, caring and very knowledgeable! He takes the time to see his patients as individuals and gives you the care that you need. I cannot say enough how much his care has meant to me in my life. - M Montey – Sep 11, 2019
  • Had an excellent experience from initial visit, diagnosis, surgery and post op follow up. - Anonymous - Aug 21, 2019
  • This man is my angel he saved my life, not only is he kind, carrying and compassionate but he is an amazing physician. - Evilisse – Jul 21, 2019
  • Dr. Patsalides was very professional and knowledgeable about my situation. He remembered me from my Angio which he conducted in 2012. He was able to tell me exactly what the extent of my issue was. He was honest and forthcoming with what could happen and what he can do as an intervention. I highly recommend him! - Tena Gil in Brooklyn, NY – Jun 28, 2019
  • Dr. Patsalides is caring and takes his time explaining everything to you. He answers all your questions and has a very nice, calm personality. I would highly recommend him. - Laura Krieg in NY – Jun 13, 2019
  • Words can’t express the appreciation that I have for Dr.Patsalides. He’s an amazing doctor he made my fears go away he gave me a sense of comfort. As I write about him tears fall from my eyes because of wasn’t for him I don’t know if I would be here. He saved my life, and for that I will be forever grateful of his wonderful work and now the relationship I will have with him for life. He’s a blessing to anyone who encounter with him. - Damila in NY – Jun 06, 2019
  • Dr Patsalides is kind, compassionate, and extremely knowledgeable about my condition. He treated me as though I was family. I will look to him for the good health of my brain for the rest of my life. - Christine Alvarez in NY – May 23, 2019
  • Wish I had started my long Journey with Dr. Patsalides. - Anonymous - Mar 14, 2019
  • My experience was great! Dr. Patsalides placed a stent to keep my left carotid artery open. The procedure was explained well and it went very smoothly. Dr P and the entire staff could not have been more helpful throughout. I am very fortunate and tremendously thankful to all. - Thomas Jones in New York, NY – Mar 07, 2019
  • Very knowledgeable, took time to explain things to my mother and was very helpful. - Jen Keenan in Binghamton, NY – Feb 16, 2019
  • can not say enough about this amazing, caring, kind, patient, knowledgeable , and incredibly talented doctor. I feel feel so lucky to be his patient. I had an AVF that was very complicated. He walked me thru the process of fixing it in a way that I could completely understand. He answered every question and eased all my fears. He is hands down one of the most incredible doctors I have ever meant. His team is just as wonderful as him. I would give him more than five stars if I could! - Allison Barker in New Canaan, CT – Feb 14, 2019
  • Doctor Patsalides listened patiently about my health concerns and replied to all my questions. I feel very grateful to have the opportunity to be treated by a compassionate and excellent doctor. - LUZ A ROJAS in Queens, NY – Feb 07, 2019
  • Dr Patsalides is amazing. I had an AVM Malformation of my vein of Galen and he said my life. I literally had an hour or less and he performed surgery and today I am alive. He is amazing and I highly recommend him - Wayne Forman in New york, NY – Feb 01, 2019
  • Wonderful as always. He is kind, knowledgeable and professional. He gave me back my quality of life, and I will always be grateful to him for that. - Maryanne in Ossining, NY – Jan 31, 2019
  • Dr. Patsalides and his team is amazing! I highly recommend choosing him as your provider. He is kind, humble, and talented. I would give him more than five stars if possible. - Christy M. in NC – Jan 29, 2019
  • Excellent and Knowledgeable about intercranial hypertension, also excellence surgeon in performing stent placement.Great experience with him and his team even the followup was excellent highly recommend Dr. Patsalides.?? - George Dickson in Bridgeport, CT – Dec 14, 2018
  • He was prompt, thorough, and straight forward. He took the time to explain what he was planning in easy to understand language. - Anonymous - Dec 05, 2018
  • Very caring and professional. - Anonymous - Dec 02, 2018
  • I had multiple brain aneurysms and this doctor detected them and Treated them With minimal invasive surgery Dr Patsalides Thank You for saving my life And Thank God - Gabriella Mayers in New York, NY – Nov 29, 2018
  • Took time to explain my condition and the test that would be necessary to define the severity and determine the treatment protocol. Explained the condition and treatment in very simple terms and was able to relieve the anxiety I was experiencing - Anonymous - Nov 12, 2018
  • Excellent Doctor...... listens to patients And I feel he very patient, he explains things in a very clear and understandable way I highly recommend Dr Patsalides - Anonymous - Oct 19, 2018
  • Dr. Patsalides is very professional and genuinely cares about his patients. He takes lots of time during your appointment to fully explain your condition, upcoming procedures, answer questions, address concerns. He is knowledgeable and thinks creatively; you walk away feeling heard. The staff he works with both in the office and at the hospital are very warm and professional. - Anonymous - Oct 18, 2018
  • Excellent care and great experience. I really admire his clarity with me about what to expect and I can truly say Dr. Patsalides is one of the best in NY. - Ehab in New York, NY – Aug 27, 2018
  • My first time meeting him my husband and myself was very pleased, he put are concerns to rest and answered all our questions. We feel very satisfied we made the right choice for the procedure I need. Thank you George and Angelina Dickson - George & Angelina Dickson in Bridgeport, CT – Jul 28, 2018
  • Dr Patsalides took his time And answered all my questions , that was important to me. Excellent spinal Dr. I gave him 5 stars here but Dr Patsalides you got 10 plus from my. Thank you so much. - Anonymous in NY – Jul 23, 2018
  • I am very satisfied with the care that I receive from Dr. Patsalides. He's very caring and sympathetic , and answered all my questions . His bedside manner is excellent. I highly will recommend him. - Kimberly Gesualdo in New York, NY – Jun 26, 2018
  • So knowledgeable and able to explain complex conditions in layman'terms. Relaxed and patient. I did not feel rushed. Answered all questions thoroughly. I feel very secure placing my trust I. Dr. Patsalides. I am a nurse with a lot of experience and very confident in his skill. - Irene Sourbeck in Bethlehem, PA – Jun 21, 2018
  • I met with Dr. Patsalides for the first time this week and I was very favorably impressed with his cautious and deliberate approach in discussing my condition, further diagnostic activities and possible options for treatment. - Barry Berg in Brooklyn, NY – Jun 15, 2018
  • I was referred to Dr. Patsalides for a sacral insufficiency fracture. He was very thorough explaining what could and could not be achieved by with a sacroplasty. He had an excellent bedside manner, answered all my questions honestly, and I felt confident that he would actually make my pain lessen. I give him the highest praise and feel he was a very sympathetic doctor and never rushed me as well . - Stacey Romano in NY, NY – May 12, 2018
  • Dr. Patsalides is professional, good listener, & most importantly compassionate. He was instrumental in giving me my quality of life back. Can’t thank him enough. You are in good hands with him as your doctor. - Anne Cittadino – Apr 12, 2018
  • Dr. Patsalides is in my opinion one of the most brilliant doctors I have ever encountered. I travel a long way to see him and I never regret it. He is compassionate and kind and very accommodating to answer any question I have. He helped me through a very difficult medical challenge and the only thing that made it easier was how much I trusted his medical judgement and expertise combined with his compassion. I highly recommend him. - Anonymous - Jan 22, 2018
  • I was diagnosed with pseudotumor cerebri in the summer of 2015 after my ENT saw a talk by Dr. Athos Patsalides. He diagnosed and managed my rare condition. At each meeting I looked this doctor in the eye and felt my hope return. On December 21, 2015 Dr. Patsalides did a relatively new procedure called venous sinus stenting, not even 50 had been done, to relieve the pressure in my skull. He saved my life. My vision, hearing, and quality of life returned in short time. I will be forever grateful. - Karen B in Astoria, NY – Apr 26, 2017
  • Excellent bedside manor. Very knowledgeable and explains condition to fullest. Very honest. - Linda Ringhoff in South Amboy, NJ – Apr 06, 2017
  • He is highly skilled, compassionate and well-regarded by his colleagues and staff. He helped me to navigate a life-threatening illness, beginning with a correct diagnosis. I am immeasurably grateful to this man. - Christina in Chatham, NJ – Feb 10, 2017

No records found.

Write a review

If you're interested in submitting a testimonial for Athos Patsalides, M.D., Please use the form below to do so.

Thanks!

Fields marked (*) are required